The Collection Classes in java

The standard collection classes are summarized in the following table:

AbstractCollectionImplements most of the Collection interface.
AbstractListExtends AbstractCollection and implements most of the List interface.
AbstractQueueExtends AbstractCollection and implements parts of the Queue interface.
AbstractSequentialListExtends AbstractList for use by a collection that uses sequential rather than random
 access of its elements.
LinkedListImplements a linked list by extending AbstractSequentialList.
ArrayListImplements a dynamic array by extending AbstractList.
ArrayDequeImplements a dynamic double-ended queue by extending AbstractCollection and
 implementing the Deque interface. (Added by Java SE 6.)
AbstractSetExtends AbstractCollection and implements most of the Set interface.
EnumSetExtends AbstractSet for use with enum elements.
HashSetExtends AbstractSet for use with a hash table.
LinkedHashSetExtends HashSet to allow insertion-order iterations.
PriorityQueueExtends AbstractQueue to support a priority-based queue.
TreeSetImplements a set stored in a tree. Extends AbstractSet.
The Collection Classes in java

Leave a Comment